So, I was recently nominated by the amazing graciechick to do the Cramm Award! The Cramm Award was created by a blogger called Liv, who made a really cool website called the Cramm !

Here are the rules for this award:

  1. -Include a little bit about who created this award (with a link) and mention the person the who nominated you
  2. -Share 3 things that motivate you to blog and share 3 people that motivate you to blog as well
  3. -Share one thing you hope to do that will improve the world
  4. -Answer your challenge question
  5. -Nominate 10 (or more if you want) bloggers and give them a challenge question

3 things that motivate me to blog 

My religion. Being a Muslim is an integral part of who I am, and it has honestly made me the person I am today. I am hoping that I will be able to make some sort of change, however small, to the growing negative image that people have of Muslims and even if I change one persons opinion, it will be worth it.

My culture and my family . From the stories my family tells me, it is clear that London in  has become much more multicultural over the last few decades, and more accepting of immigrants. Obviously, there are still people with differing opinions, but on the prejudice they faced has improved. In the 50’s and 60’s there was large wave of immigrants that came to England, Scotland etc. looking for a better quality of life. The majority of people here were accepting, and intrigued by all the different ethnicities and cultures that were around them. However, as these immigrants settled down and had children, it became a different story. By this point, the ‘honeymoon’ period had gone and people were starting to get frustrated with all the new people in their towns. Because of this, the second generation immigrants suffered a lot of racial abuse. My point is, I am so grateful that I didn’t grow up during that time and (as of right now)  I get an equal amount of opportunities as other people. So I don’t want to pass up the things that my parents didn’t have.

3 people that motivate me

-My mum. Like I said before (and in my sunshine blogger post), my mum’s life at my age was extremely different to my life now. However, she is such a strong person, and I (usually) do things to make her proud. One day, if this blog takes off, I would really like her to look back and be proud of me.

-My dad. Like my mum, I do want to ‘make him proud’, but not in that classic asian way. I feel like when I say that, people assume making them proud means getting all A*’s and becoming a millionaire plastic surgeon but that’s literally not it. Its about staying connected to my faith, doing something I love and doing it really well. If you do something you love you are bound to become successful because you will love putting in the extra effort. And if along my path I find a billionaire prince who falls in love with me then … lets just say I won’t be sad about it lol

-My sisters. I have 3 sisters, all of whom are a very important part of my life and a major source of encouragement and support.

One improvement to the world

I would really love to just end the Islamophobia. It hasn’t personally affected me (yet) but seeing the news reports (or lack of news reports) of people killing Muslims all over America scares and disgusts me. The problem is, with Trump in power, Islamophobia is probably only going to get worse. But there have been positives, like the protests against the Muslim travel ban. It was seriously so cool to see how united Americans became and also how supportive they became towards Muslims and to some extent Islam in general. By blogging, I hope to give people an insight into my culture and my religion, and let people know that Muslims and literally just normal people trying to live life.

Challenge question from graciechick

If you could team up with someone to create a movement for change, who would it be, why would it be them and what would your movement focus on?

Malala Yousafzai. She is activist for female education and I think her story is so moving and inspiring, and she has so much knowledge. I would team up with her to help improve the situation for women in Pakistan. Many cultural problems have led to the continuous oppression of so many women and the problems are never sorted out or even addressed because some Pakistanis’ have a habit of trying the sweeping their problems under the carpet.

I hope you enjoyed reading my answers! 10 bloggers I’m nominating :

– Pink For Days, Jess WenMadkatter 13, Alanna, The Zeina Diary, As Told By A Brown GirlSassy from Birth, Flittering SoulEvelina Di Lauro and Mermaid Trash.

Obviously, you don’t have to do this tag if you don’t want to! If you choose to, my question to you is:

If you could bring one person back to life, who would it be and why?

Stay fresh 🙂 

 Minty xo

 

 

